Fortune's Son

Fortune's Son

By  Jennifer Scoullar

An Australian historical saga that will appeal to readers of Bryce Courtenay and Judy Nunn.

Can one man’s revenge become his redemption?

Young Luke Tyler has everything going for him: brains, looks and a larrikin charm that turns heads. The future appears bright, until he defends his sister from the powerful Sir Henry Abbot. His reward is fifteen years hard labour on a prison farm in Tasmania’s remote highlands.

Luke escapes, finding sanctuary with a local philanthropist, Daniel Campbell, and starting a forbidden relationship with Daniel's daughter, Belle. But when Luke is betrayed, he must flee or be hanged.
With all seeming lost, Luke sails to South Africa to start afresh. Yet he remains haunted by the past, and by Belle, the woman he can’t forget. When he returns to seek revenge and reclaim his life, his actions will have shattering consequences – for the innocent as well as the guilty.

Set against a backdrop of wild Tasmania, Australian gold and African diamonds, Fortune’s Son is an epic story of betrayal, love and one man’s struggle to triumph over adversity and find his way home.

PRAISE FOR JENNIFER SCOULLAR
‘Scoullar, it turns out, is a writer of documentary calibre…lovely, lyrical prose.’ The Australian
‘Scoullar’s writing has a rich complexity. Poetic and visual … the landscape vivid and alive.’ Reading, Writing and Riesling

Format & Editions

Trade Paperback

9780143783527

May 29, 2017

Michael Joseph (AU Adult)

RRP $32.99

Buy now

Online Retailers

or

Find your local Bookstore at booksellers.org.au

EBook

9781760143411

May 29, 2017

Penguin eBooks (AU Adult)

Buy now

Online Retailers

Also by Jennifer Scoullar