The Daydreamer

The Daydreamer

By  Ian McEwan

The Daydreamer takes the reader out of reality and into the dream world of 10 year old Peter Fortune

In these seven interlinked stories the grown-up Peter reveals the secret journeys, metamorphoses and adventures of his childhood. Living somewhere between dream and reality Peter experiences magical transformations when he swaps bodies with William, the family cat, the baby Kenneth and, in the final story, wakes up as a twelve-year-old inside a grown-up body and experiences the adventure of falling in love.

Format & Editions



October 6, 1995


RRP $19.99

Buy now

Online Retailers


Find your local Bookstore at

Also by Ian McEwan