Isobelle Carmody

Isobelle Carmody book launch at Better Read Than Dead

Tickets Available

Time & Date

6:30 pm





Better Read Than Dead

265 King Street





Join Isobelle Carmody as she launches The Ice Maze, the third book in the CBCA award-winning KINGDOM OF THE LOST series.

The Kingdom of the Lost series follows Bily and Zluty, two displaced brothers who are forced to fight for survival as they journey into the perilous unknown in search of a new home.

Beloved by both big and little fans alike, the first book in the series, The Red Wind, was the winner of the 2011 CBCA Book of the Year: Younger Readers. Isobelle’s books deftly tackle themes like greed, environmental destruction and, with this series, seeking asylum. The Kingdom of the Lost is as relevant as it is thrilling, posing the question to young readers: what does it mean to leave your homeland?

Isobelle Carmody is one of Australia’s most highly acclaimed fantasy authors. At fourteen, she began Obernewtyn, the first book in her much-loved Obernewtyn Chronicles, and has since published over fifty novels and short stories. She won her first major literature award in 1993 when her novel The Gathering was joint winner of the Children’s Literature Peace Prize. Since then she has been awarded the CBCA Book of the Year Award, the Aurealis Award for Excellence in Speculative Fiction, and was named a White Raven at the Bologna Children’s Book Fair.


Bookings essential

Tickets $5, or free when you pre-order a book.

Kingdom of the Lost Book 3: The Ice Maze

By Isobelle Carmody

Read more